DIY: Automatic to Manual Transmission Swap

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself Forum' started by BadgerType, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. F23A1AT

    F23A1AT Well-Known Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Can anybody provide a pinout for the fuse panel side on the reverse lights. I gave the switch a 12v power supply and used the said white wire. I know I have the right wire as I check for continuity and then 12v after all was hooked up and gearbox in reverse. I'm getting power when I put the car in reverse, but no lights. Thanks!
     
  2. VonDubz

    VonDubz Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    127
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    I just want to add, that if you are going to replace the auto brake pedal with the manual pedal, there are a few things you gotta do.
    1. Unbolt the 4 (12mm) bolts that are attached to firewall/brakebooster. Theres one more bolt up on top but you wont be able to see it because the steering column is in the way.
    2. I'm going to assume you already pulled the all plastic underdash pieces down, there are 2 bolts also 12mm, holding the column up iirc. they're on a small U shaped bracket. theres the swivel bracket which is also 2 12mm bolts further down the column (this is what lets u adjust the column up and down) unbolt those.

    3.once you bring the column down push it over the right. stick ur head under, where the swivel joint is and turn it so it sits straight down, and shine a light inside. Theres a 12mm bolt up isnt there? =).

    4.After you remove that bolt, if havent done so remove the cotter pin, and pin from behind the brake pedal attached to the brake master cylinder.

    5. Wiggle the brake pedal out and Voila. Install is Reverse.

    Hope that helps, cuz I kno many people just hack their pedals, but if u dont. Here u go lol
     
  3. Snoobly

    Snoobly Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    616
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa
    so i've been struggling with reverse lights for awhile now. ive done everything that the posts say to do. My automatic gauge cluster indicates that it's in reverse, but i don't have lights. also, the indicator stays on even when im not in reverse. WTF? o_O

    any ideas?!?!
     
  4. jdmcg3

    jdmcg3 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    :claps:
     
  5. fricci4993

    fricci4993 New Member

    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim, ca
    Okay I am stumped I did the swap, BUT I am using my A.T. ECU because I dont have the harness. I tried tampahobo's way and it didnt work. Is there a way to use the main (large AT tranny plug) that is hanging from the loom already?

    Thanks in advance guys :)
     
  6. Snoobly

    Snoobly Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    616
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa
    You NEED the manual ECU bro... you don't NEED the harness to make the manual ECU work. every thing plugs right in. you just don't plug the Tranny plug into the ECU.
     
  7. SuperMidget

    SuperMidget Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    So this orginal post is based on a MANUAL ecu?? 100% sure?
     
  8. F23A1AT

    F23A1AT Well-Known Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    You must have a manual ECU for this swap to work properly. The car will operate in limp mode until all of the following requirements have been met. Manual ECU installed, VSS wiring completed. That's it, it is very simple and easy to do.
     
  9. SuperMidget

    SuperMidget Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Great got it.
    So I picked up my h22 5 speed trans today! Yay! All i need now is:

    -Clutch kit
    -Flywheel
    -Shift fork
    -Manual ECU
    -Driver's Axle

    Just to clarify... All these parts above need to match the TRANNY right? (Even the fly/clutch kit? Even though it bolts to the block?)
    I'm having difficulties understanding all these threads, some say you can reuse your stock axle/intermediate shaft others say half and half, and this thread doesn't specify any details on parts really.

    I'm going off the unoffical 5 speed swap parts list.

    And anyone know about the h22 tranny electrical socket? The f23 auto plug doesn't just clip in, does it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2012
  10. Swiftx246

    Swiftx246 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Fresno
    i just completed the swap. ran into a little problem right at the end. my starter doesn't kick over. i put the tranny plug wires together and it shows neutral on the dash. i had to connect the two wires and started it that way and the car starts and runs perfect with the auto ecu. but does anyone have a clue why it doesn't kick over the starter with the key?
     

Share This Page