J32A2 + 6MT swap in my '01 F23/H23 5MT chassis

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission Mods' started by Bense, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. twofast4u

    twofast4u Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    Haha. honestly the 6thgen community is way better than the BMW forum. Everyone there seems to be stuck up lol.

    Awais, you know me too well..
     
  2. Bense

    Bense Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Looks like the front sub frame is similar enough to the automatic version. The one from the manual trans is a bit rusted in the junkyard. There's only 1 hole that holds some mount for the transmission. Easier for me to just grind off the paint and weld a small plate onto the subframe (if I even need to do it)


    It's a good thing I took all those years in welding training, so that I could work a few weeks of ****ty welding jobs before I decided that it was time to find a new career. But hey, -- at least i can weld whatever I want lol
     
  3. Bense

    Bense Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Got most, if not all of the parts to do the swap. But I'm almost done with my research on how to make the gearing of the transmission better.

    And no, I'm not just talking about the final drive.
     
  4. Bense

    Bense Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Aww yeahhhh
    [​IMG]

    CL-S front strut bar and rear sway bar.
    [​IMG]

    A bit dirty
    [​IMG]

    Looks like it came with some headers
    [​IMG]

    And some pulleys
    [​IMG]

    Parts...
    [​IMG]

    Some transmissions....
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Bense

    Bense Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Gotta get to 100 posts before I can send a PM apparently
     
  6. Bense

    Bense Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Carolinas
    I know that this is ~4 years old. However, this leaves me to believe that you've also got the same Rotora brake kit. If so, this thread contains valuable information on how to replace the consumable parts (pads + rotors) using readily available, off the shelf parts;
    https://honda-tech.com/forums/suspension-brakes-54/rotora-big-brake-kit-replacement-pads-3344882/
     
    RedRyder likes this.
  7. RedRyder

    RedRyder Save the manuals

    Posts:
    19,417
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Fawking, OH
    Thanks but I have the older Rotora BBK w/1pc rotors, before they screwed everyone and went to 2pc rotor kits, offering no replacement for the 1pc. I scoured the internet for a while but found no viable solution that was reasonable or cost effective.

    For awhile I thought about spacing the Rotora caliper to accept 28mm but never got deep into that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
  8. Bense

    Bense Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Check my latest reply. Post #4.

    I use 2017-2020 Mini Countryman rotor, which is 330x24mm and fits great. You will have to make a one time purchase of $25 for 4 hubcentric rings and about $8 in hardware.

    I don't even have to modify the rotor. It just fits on with the adapter rings.
     
    RedRyder likes this.
  9. RedRyder

    RedRyder Save the manuals

    Posts:
    19,417
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Fawking, OH
    Hmm alright, I will re-read. Thanks man, I miss those calipers, car looked so much better.
     

Share This Page