The Ultimate J32A2+6spd Swap Parts List!

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission Mods' started by Crimzon, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. jester1020

    jester1020 Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    Summerville sc
    I have a few questions. What if you wanted to keep it auto? (yeah I know they are crap 1-2 gear issues blah blah) What would you need to keep it auto? I bought a j32a2 for $150 (no harness) and plan to swap intakes to get rid of the butterflies. But I'm lost as far as the harness goes. I know I can't use the tl/cl ecu with the accord trans. So vtec controller? I read on v6p where people have used the j30 harness on the j35 ody motor. Since I'm not using the butterfly intake could I do the same. That seems like it would be more of a plug and play deal.
     
  2. 99cfENVYv6

    99cfENVYv6 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    why not run a j32, with a paired trans from a j32? plus the auto harness and ecu? I dont understand where youre finding an issue. Do you want to mate the j30 auto to the j32?
     
  3. jester1020

    jester1020 Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    Summerville sc
    My issue is -- in Feb/2011 I paid a few thousand dollars for a rebuilt trans with a 3 year unlimited mileage warranty. I was also promised that part of what I was paying for was better parts (hard and soft), and that it would stand up to more hp and aggressive driving. I don't launch hard and really only drive aggressively on the interstate if at all, so I don't think I'll have the 1-2 gear over heating issues that tend to destroy these trannies. My wife physically can't drive stick, and since I have kids and work a lot having a car she can't drive if she needed to is out of the question.

    I had planned on just buying a replacement j30 but lucked into a j32a2 for $150 (no harness). I planned to swap intakes (to get rid of the butterflies) and use my accord harness. I know the maps will be different and vtec needs to be raised. I was thinking about using a controller, since I can't use a tl/cl ecu with the accord trans. I haven't got it all figured out yet. Most of this is new to me, I haven't really done any swaps or wiring since the obd1 days. I'm looking for answers but it seems like no one is using the accord trans. I understand why, but I know that there has to be people out there that made it work.
     
  4. Crimzon

    Crimzon Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Hey guys just an update, I had to put this project on hold. Thought I could handle doing the swap and buying a house at the same time while working 70 hours a week, but as usual, I bit off more than I could chew. So I decided to prioritize the house. Just finally had an offer accepted, so with any luck I'll close within a month or so, move in, and get this car finished.

    I have all of the parts I need except for a wiring harness, motor mounts, linkage, and Richie's harness. Has anybody heard from him? I tried contacting him a couple months ago with no reply. Hopefully he's still making these things... lol
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  5. Crimzon

    Crimzon Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Dang! Wish I would've checked up on this thread, I was just working in Eugene a couple weeks ago. And I'll be very interested in those details :)
     
  6. RICKDIGILER

    RICKDIGILER Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    San Antonio
    I got a 6 speed question on headers for those 6MT guys.
    and yes I know about v6p.

    Does "THAT" so called 6 speed bend in the headers mean anything?

    Fitting wise, does no bend in the 3rd cylinder header mean it will hit the 6 speed transmission?

    Comptech USA
    [​IMG]


    DC Sports
    [​IMG]


    XS
    [​IMG]


    Megan Racing
    I don't see any bend with these, is that a problem for clearance?
    [​IMG]


    Edit: Moved from Roo0oach's exhaust thread didn't want to threadjack.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2011
  7. Accord_J30A

    Accord_J30A Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I think u only need it if u are using the J32a2 motor mounts. If not, than u can just use any other headers such as megan, obx or the ebay one. Someone please correct me if im wrong.
     
  8. RICKDIGILER

    RICKDIGILER Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    San Antonio
    oh ok yeah maybe you're right, wouldn't want it to be a problem since I love that the j30 headers are compatible with the j32

    thanks for the input man...
     
  9. SykVSyx

    SykVSyx Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    13,909
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tee Dot Ohh
    Rick, you have to used the headers with the bend with the 6spd. it's for clearance.
     
  10. RICKDIGILER

    RICKDIGILER Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    San Antonio
    That's what I was wondering, those bends couldn't just be a coincidence...
     

Share This Page