will my 1200watt Hifonics amp overpower my 12" L5?

ryan s

they dont think it
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Posts
21,537
Reaction score
144
Location
be like it is
it would be giving a 600rms sub 900rms...

if youre careful with the subsonic filter, and especially the gain and volume knobs it wont be a problem. issues arise when you crank the gain and then turn up the volume "for that one song that sounds amazing."

and unless you play test tones all day, the sub will never see 900 watts and the amp will probably never make more than 600...thats the dynamic nature of music.

as a side note...can't wait to get a 15. itll move more than 3 times the air even a really good 10 can...and that makes me excited :lawl:
 

swollen_cu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Posts
3,632
Reaction score
5
Location
New Orleans
as a side note...can't wait to get a 15. itll move more than 3 times the air even a really good 10 can...and that makes me excited :lawl:

Wanna buy my 15" Eclipse titanium? Im selling it. You should know how beastly this sub is!
 

1NonlyAccord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Posts
2,389
Reaction score
22
Location
GA
Thanks guys..I was looking at the 15" Kickers..but Im I didnt wanna spend over 400$ on my 100th setup.ha ill probably end up selling this one again too in a few months.
 

ryan s

they dont think it
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Posts
21,537
Reaction score
144
Location
be like it is
Wanna buy my 15" Eclipse titanium? Im selling it. You should know how beastly this sub is!
which model number? and of course...price! :lawl: (now i'm thinking about doing 2 12s IB. we'll see :lawl: )...

back to the OP...curious why you buy and sell the kickers all the time? i buy different stuff just to try...i've never sold something then bought it back :lawl: there are tons of subs on the market that would fit the bill...
 

1NonlyAccord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Posts
2,389
Reaction score
22
Location
GA
This is my 2nd kicker..the 1st was L7,and i loved the bass from it..
Iv had mtx,apline,dual,JL,audiobahn.+
my fav. was my JL w6 and the L7. But i got the L5 new for 140$ shipped.so worth a try.
 

ejreams

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Posts
1,493
Reaction score
4
Location
Fort Collins, CO
This is my 2nd kicker..the 1st was L7,and i loved the bass from it..
Iv had mtx,apline,dual,JL,audiobahn.+
my fav. was my JL w6 and the L7. But i got the L5 new for 140$ shipped.so worth a try.

I don't have a w6 but I picked up a JL W0 10" from someone at work a while back for 30$.

#1 I love it, its loud and powerful but not droning.
#2 it punches well, which I prefer.
#3 I've had it for a year and a half and still haven't had any problems.
 

swollen_cu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Posts
3,632
Reaction score
5
Location
New Orleans
ryan s said:
which model number? and of course...price! :lawl: (now i'm thinking about doing 2 12s IB. we'll see :lawl: )...

back to the OP...curious why you buy and sell the kickers all the time? i buy different stuff just to try...i've never sold something then bought it back :lawl: there are tons of subs on the market that would fit the bill...

It's a dual 2 ohm sub. I forgot the mode number... 750 rms/1500 peak. But I hear these subs handling 1000 rms easily. Pm me for a price haha
 

1NonlyAccord

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Posts
2,389
Reaction score
22
Location
GA
Sorry to bring this back up..But will 450rms not be under powering the sub?
If i WANTED to run 2 ohm..How would I run the wires?
right now i have the sub wired into a 4 ohm load like you said..

But i cant find any diagrams to wire a 2 ohm sub into 2 ohm load if thats even possible or what not? since the sub has 4 wire posts.
 

swollen_cu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Posts
3,632
Reaction score
5
Location
New Orleans
1NonlyAccord said:
Sorry to bring this back up..But will 450rms not be under powering the sub?
If i WANTED to run 2 ohm..How would I run the wires?
right now i have the sub wired into a 4 ohm load like you said..

But i cant find any diagrams to wire a 2 ohm sub into 2 ohm load if thats even possible or what not? since the sub has 4 wire posts.

Impossible to run 2 ohms with that sub model. You can either run a 4 ohm or 2 ohm. If you had a dual 4 ohm voice coil sub than u could run it at either w ohms or 8 ohms
 
Back
Top